• Ask a Cop

    Got a question? Send it to Lt. Bob Dunn, public information officer. We'll publish answers to the most interesting ones.
  • Need Help?

    For non-emergencies, call (714) 765-1900.
    911 for emergencies
  • RSS Anaheim News

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS OC Crime News

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

New Lieutenant Attracted to Anaheim PD’s ‘Wow’ Factor

Jarret Young was impressed with the Anaheim Police Department from as far back as he can remember.

Lt. Jaret Young

“I would see Anaheim officers on the streets and at community events and think, ‘Wow, I want to be like them,’” he said. “I respected the job of a police officer and thought it would be a great career.”

Promoted last week to lieutenant, the Anaheim native says the “Wow” of Anaheim PD “is something I never outgrew.”

In his first assignment as a lieutenant, Young, 38, will serve as a watch commander. He most recently worked in personnel.

“I enjoy working in the city I grew up in,” he said. “I have a special connection and love of this community that I think helps shape my decisions and how I do my job.”

At last week’s promotion ceremony, several of his family members cheered as Chief John Welter presented him with his new bars.

“My parents still live in the house I grew up in,” said Young, a Savannah High School graduate. His grandmother, several aunts, uncles and cousins also live in town.

But it’s more than Young’s connection to Anaheim that excites him about police work.

“This is one of very few jobs in the world that you actually get to make a difference in people’s lives every day,” he said.

Young, who holds a master’s degree in criminal justice from Chapman University, said he looks forward to the new challenge – and playing a greater role in guiding the department into the future.

“I want to make sure that we are still ‘wowing’ our kids out there so they too will be inspired to become Anaheim Police officers,” he said.

